Conference Chairs

President ASASWEI
Chair: Conference 2021
Dr Varoshini Nadesan

President: ASASWEI
University of Johannesburg

Varoshini served on the previous Executive of ASASWEI as treasurer (2015-2019), and the local organising committee of the international ASASWEI Conference 2019. She is a senior lecturer at the University of Johannesburg where she lecturers and supervises students at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. She holds a BA in Social Work, a Masters degree in child and youth care, and a PhD in social work. Her practice experience includes 20 years as chief social worker and 6 years at the SACSSP as National Manager: Professional Conduct. She serves on various Boards and task teams, locally and internationally, including on the editorial boards of recent international publications. Her research interests include field instruction and social work education.

Vice-President ASASWEI
Co-Chair: Conference 2021
Prof Allucia Lulu Shokane

Vice-President: ASASWEI
University of Zululand

Lulu is a Professor in Social Work and Deputy Dean of Research and Internationalisation in the Faculty of Arts at the University of Zululand. She was previously the Head of Department of Social Work at the same university. She holds a masters degree and a doctorate in Social Work. Lulu is well published in peer reviewed journals.

Her research interests include social work and community development, critical and radical social work, decolonised methodologies, indigenous knowledge and practices within context of community development, and asset-oriented community- led development (ABCD) specific to social work education. She is the Vice-President of ASASWEI.

Scroll to Top